Mar 04, 2024  
2023-24 Catalog 
2023-24 Catalog

Certificate in Applied Learning and Essential Skills

The Certificate in Applied Learning and Essential Skills is an interdisciplinary Certificate designed to help students demonstrate their developed core capacities in Communication & Expression, Inquiry & Analysis, Creativity & Innovation, Numerical Literacy, and Equity, Diversity & Inclusion. In applying the Purposeful Learning capacity/lens to their university experience, students make meta-cognitive connections between their education and their broader, individually-defined goals. This Certificate helps learners gain and demonstrate a practical approach to self-reflection, connection with others, and adaptation of cross-disciplinary skills to an ever-changing world.

Unlike other Certificates, the Certificate in Applied Learning and Essential Skills may be awarded to students upon completion of the associated requirements. There is no application or application fee required for this Certificate.  This Certificate is not designed to be standalone and will not receive federal financial aid funding on its own - unless specifically approved by the University Registrar, it must be pursued alongside a Bachelor’s Degree (although it will be awarded separately from the degree, upon completion of the Certificate requirements). The typical policies and guidelines regarding residency requirements, transfer limitations, and upper division credit count are waived for this Certificate.

Certificate Requirements (39-44 total credits):

Writing and Oral Communication (C- or better in each):

Lower Division Core Coursework (D- or better in each):

1 designated lower-division Communication & Expression (CE)  course

1 designated lower-division Creativity & Innovation (CI)  course

1 designated lower-division Inquiry & Analysis (IA)  course

1 designated lower-division Numerical Literacy (NL)  course

1 designated lower-division Equity, Diversity & Inclusion (EDI)  course

Upper Division Core Coursework (D- or better in each):

1 designated upper division Equity, Diversity & Inclusion (EDI)  course

8 credits in designated Upper Division Capacity Courses. Maximum 4 credits in any one capacity, and maximum 4 credits from any course prefix.